Saturdays In The Villa

XVIII Edition "Saturdays in the Villa"


Villa Trissino: this building, commissioned to Palladio by brothers Francesco and Ludovico Trissino in 1535, was meant to be the largest Villa in all of Vicenza; unfortunately it was never finished, probably because of the death of one of the two brothers. What remains today of Palladio's grand project, who drew inspiration from the ancient acropolises, is the garden's wall, a tower, the farming side-building over the Brendola stream and the one opposite to it. The ground-floor rooms have fireplaces decorated with masks that some ascribe to Bernardino India.
Villa Manzoni Valcasara: built during the first half of the 16th century for the Counts Arnaldi of Vicenza; it might have been designed by Antonio Francesco Olivera, a disciple of the great architect Michele Sammicheli. The frescoed main-hall is a wonderful exemple of Vicenza's Renaissance interior design, with cotto floor and panelled wood ceiling. The farming-buildings in the garden opposite the villa, are characterized by imposing rusticated columns, after the Roman models Sammicheli adapted to his own taste. This compound also comprises a family chapel dedicated to St.Rita, open to the public.
Villa Da Porto La Favorita: Count Da Porto had this villa, designed by Muttoni, built in just two years, 1714-1715. It is a three-storey building, the main feature being the huge stircase that leads to the Ionic pronaos of the facade topped by a triagular tympanum decorated by statues, a telling example of Muttoni's eloquent style. The interior's frescoes were painted in 1717-1718 by unknown artists. In front of the villa there are two large porticated farming-buildings decorated by Palladian windows. Out of the villa's gate, on the left, there is Carmine Chapel, built in 1697. The altar statues are a work by Orazio Marionali.
After the visit Consorzio and Pro Loco Sarego will offer visitors a little buffet

Starting-point: 2.15 pm - Sarego Piazza Umberto I (before the Town-Hall)
Cost: 15,00 - Booking required
Guide: Ilaria Marobin


Ca' Arnaldi Palazzo and church: formerly the house of Counts Pojana, of which we can see still-existing 15th century features, it was completely renovated by Counts Arnaldi in the early 18th century. The 1743 church behind the villa, adjoining the farming-buildings around the formal garden, is absolutely beautiful.
Villa Pojana/ Cantine Villa: built in the mid-16th century for Cavaliere Bonifacio Pojana after a project by Andrea Palladio, it is unfinished, as the long Doric porches at its sides were never built. It is world-famous for its facade, characterized by a five-circular-windows serliana enclosed in two Bramantesque frames. The interior was frescoed by Bernardino India, Anselmo Canera and Battista Zelotti. The stucco decoration in the Emperors' Hall was made by Bartolomeo Ridolfi. The statues on the entrance staircase are a work of Girolamo Albanese (1658). The basement, recently restored, was destined to agriculture-related works and storage, while the attic was used as a barn. On the groud floor there's also an exposition of wooden models of Palladian villas.
Castle of Pojana Maggiore: the area in front of the villa is characterized by the ruins of the medieval castle, one of the few that were spared by the Venetian governement.

After the visit Consorzio and Pro Loco Sarego will offer visitors a little buffet

Starting-point: 2.15 pm - Noventa Vicentina, Via De Gasperi Casa di riposo Ca' Arnaldi
Cost: 15,00 (entrance to the villas included)- Booking required
Guide: Ilaria Marobin


Villa Saraceno: built between 1546 and 1555 for Biagio Saraceno, it was one of the first of Palladio's commisions. All that was eventually built is the manor house, although in the original project there were also two large square-angle farming side-buildings adjoining to it. The villa, inspired to ancient Roman temples, still charms us because of its perfect simplicity. Since 1989 it belongs to the British Landmark Trust.
Villa delle Trombe: a massive Renaissance building, it might have been designed by architect Michele Sammicheli.
Barchesse Trolio: this remarkable late-17th-century compound, is made of only two symmetrical side farming-buildings with no main building or villa (which was maybe originally intended to be in what is today the central garden).
Villa Dal Verme (exterior): a rare example of mainland Venetian Gothic architecture, it dates back to the early 15th century. It overlooks the Liona stream, and has splendid Gothic windows suspended over thin columns. This Villa is now owned by Ente Ville Venete, but it is dangerously deteriorated, and can only be seen from the outside.
After the visit Consorzio will offer visitors a little buffet

Starting-point: 2.30 pm - Villa Saraceno ad Agugliaro
Cost: 10,00 - Booking required
Guide: Grazia Costa


Villa Pisani Bagnolo, farming side-buildings and morgue: designed by Andrea Palladio, it was built from 1542 for brothers Vittorio, Marco and Daniele, sons of Giovanni Pisani, a Venetian patrician. Its facade is a rusticated triumphal arc, with three openings, enclosed by two towers and toppet by a triangular tympanum. The main hall inside, lit up by a large thermal window, has a pregnant spacial quality, a genial invention of the Maestro. The frescoes were painted by Bernardino India. The compound is completed by the large farming side-buildings, which were partially destroyed by air raids during WWII. The visit will end at Bagnolo's ancient Parish Church.
Madonna dei Miracoli Shrine and ex-voto Museum: built on the scene of a miracolous event in 1486, it quickly started to attract pilgrims from all over the Republic. The southern early-Renaissance facade, in Berica Stone, was designed by Alvise Lamberti da Montagnana. Beautiful 16th- and 17th century altars in the inside. Very interesting is the rich ex-voto paintings museum, opened in 1997.
After the visit Consorzio and Pro Loco Lonigo will offer visitors a little buffet

Starting-point: 2.30 pm - Lonigo, Villa Bagnolo -
Cost: 15,00 (entrance to the villa and museum included) - Booking required
Guide: Simona Tozzo


Gardens, S.Cassiano's hermitage and burying ground, caves: S.Cassiano's hermitage, right at the bottom of a steep rocky precipice is certainly one of of the most picturesque places in all of Veneto. Inhabitated firstly by prehistoric man, it became a place of spiritual retreatment in the Middle Ages. St.Theobald is told to have lived here. The hermitage is surrounded by caves, some with traces of paintings and sculptures. Visitors can also see 13 tombs carved out of the rocks around the hermitage, which date back to the early Middle Ages. This site is taken care of by Club Speleologico Proteo of Vicenza.
S.Maiolo's Church: a very ancient church, dedicated to the Saint Benedectine monk. It was rebuilt in the 16th century and was enlarged in the 18th century. A recent restoration has brought it back to its ancient splendour.
After the visit Consorzio and Pro Loco Longare will offer visitors a little buffet.

Starting-point: 2.30 pm - Piazza Lumignano -
Cost: 10,00 - Booking required
Guides: Sergio Malapelle and Bruno Maistro


Villa Priuli-Lazzarini in Villa del Ferro: it was built at the end of the 16th century, in a style very close to that of Scamozzi's. The Tuscanian pronaos supports a small tympanum. Remarkable the pyramid-like chemney-tops. Family chapel and formal garden.
Val Liona, Campolongo Medieval compound: this is definetely the largest and most peculiar architectonic structure in all of Berici Hills. The whole medieval castle (church, manor house, farms, towers and ramparts) were restored by the Venetian Dolfin family in 1601.
After the visit Consorzio and Pro Loco Val Liona will offer visitors a little buffet Starting-point: 2.30 pm - Villa Priuli Lazzarini- Villa del Ferro (S.Germano dei Berici)
Cost: 15,00 - Booking required
Guide: Ilaria Marobin

Villa Godi Malinverni Villa Piovene Villa Pisani Bagnolo Villa Saraceno Villa Pojana Villa Garzoni Villa Giusti Villa Cornaro Villa Barbaro Giardini Ville Da Schio